Irish Liberty Forum

More on Political Unification

with 7 comments

I’ve written at reasonable length before on the nature of the EU, inspired very much by some thoughts expressed by Hoppe. Now I’ve found a paper by Jorg Guido Hulsmann which goes into the matter in some detail:

Political Unification: A Generalized Progression Theorem

The basic idea is that states are motivated to unite by two important problems: on the one hand by the unavoidable internal limitations on power they each face, and on the other by the difficulty and risk associated with military expansion. There is a fascinating comparison made with the progressive centralisation of insolvent fractional reserve banks, eventually joining together under a central bank to avoid going out of business. In a similar manner, governments may unite in order to pool their debts and thus prevent collapse while staving off a hyper-inflation and managing to continue their repayments.

Of course an EU balance sheet has not yet replaced Europe’s national balance sheets, but most banking systems have already merged under the ECB and the process of unification continues, notwithstanding some complications.

Written by Graham

July 10, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Europe, politics

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice post! I discovered these details worthwhile. I happen to be writing blogs for quite a while now however just have recently been buying a few responses once in a while even though. While Personally i think that my content is useful and latest Irrrve never actually left it open up pertaining to conversation simply by communicating with them or even getting readers. I have just begun to throw open the subject pertaining to conversation and request for readers insight, instead of merely giving information.

    lawyers title

    February 13, 2013 at 9:14 pm

  2. May I simply say what a relief to uncover an individual who actually knows
    what they’re discussing online. You definitely realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people need to check this out and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you aren’t more popular since you certainly possess the gift.

  3. I think this is one of the most important info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers creatine levels too high – creatinine clearance medcalc – creatine supplements best micronized creatine optimum nutrition – creatinine clearance equation – creatine universal capsules

  4. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for rookie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.
    Sytropin – sytropin – sytropin sytropin – sytropin – free sytropin samples

    Newton

    May 7, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  5. Helpful info. Lucky me I discovered your web site unintentionally, and I am
    stunned why this accident did not came about earlier!
    I bookmarked it. rippon boswell new york – rippln reviews – rippln app

    Randell

    May 11, 2013 at 7:12 am

  6. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot
    more of your respective exciting content.

    Make sure you update this again very soon.

    sportsbet

    June 17, 2013 at 5:10 am

  7. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue together with your
    web site in internet explorer, might check this?

    IE nonetheless is the market leader and a huge element
    of other folks will leave out your excellent writing due to this problem.

    grapefruit diet

    July 11, 2013 at 1:28 am


Leave a Reply

